Little Richard

I was driving down 1960, on the road from Liberty, Texas to Kingwood for a doctor’s appointment and lunch with girlfriends.  I tuned the radio to KSBJ, a Christian station in the Houston area, to listen to Christmas music.  I have to admit that this is the only time of year that I tune in to this station.  I am a huge country music and NPR fan, so I normally divide my time between those two stations.  Well, I was crusing along, singing those carols and enjoying my wordly Christmas when the announcer came on with this message:

“We have received a note from a boy’s mother,” he said.  “The boy is 11 years old, and his name is Richard.  Here is the note that Richard left for his Mom and Dad to read:

(Remember that I cannot quote this exactly)

Dear Mom and Dad,

I don’t want anything for Christmas this year.  I don’t want any toys, clothes, candy or anything else.  I just want everyone in the world to be happy and smile a lot.  It’s silly for me to get presents when it’s not my birthday.  It’s Jesus’ birthday.

Love, Richard

The announcer came back on and said….Richard is only 11 years old, but he gets it.  He knows what Christmas is all about.

I sat there and thought about Richard.  I wondered if he would get any presents this year.  I’m pretty sure his parents will still give him a nice Christmas.  But, I don’t think Richard cares about things.  Richard obviously knows Jesus pretty well.  He thinks that the world should be smiling more, and this 11 year old child understands that we would all be happier and smile more if we  celebrated Jesus’ birthday at Christmas and stopped spraying each other with pepper spray at Wal-Mart. I knew I had to write about Richard. 

Richard is tugging at my heart…no, that’s not right.  Jesus is the one tugging at my heart.  He’s saying to me that Christmas is not about “presents”…it’s about His “presence”.

PRESENCE…NOT PRESENTS.  THANK YOU, JESUS FOR BEING BORN FOR ME, AND THANK YOU RICHARD, FOR REMINDING ME. 

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!  MAY HIS PRESENCE BE WITH US…EACH AND EVERYONE

 

2 thoughts on “Little Richard

    • Thank you so much for reading my blog. I appreciate your positive comments. I probably don’t put as much effort into writing as I should. I’ve been working on a second book for about 3 years now…need to get that finished, but I love writing and I love devotional, spiritual writing.

Leave a Reply

