Lost and Found

OCTOBER DEVOTION
The Christian Connection
“Lost And Found”
By Myra F. Smith

Bible Verse: “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Does he not leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?” (Luke 15:4)

There was a story on the July 21st 60 Minutes show that caught my attention. It was concerning the “Lost Boys of Ethiopia”. I’m sure you’re familiar with the story. These boys traveled on foot across the desert for 13 years trying to escape the massacre in their country. The few who survived were taken to America where they were introduced to a toilet, car, television, and other modern conveniences, for the first time. One boy was particularly bright and spoke good English. He carried a Bible with him and when he was asked why he took that Bible with him for 13 years across the desert, he said, “They call us the lost boys, but I’m not lost to God.”

WOW. WHAT AN INCREDIBLE STATEMENT. I have felt lost to God when I stumped my toe; someone disagreed with my “always right” opinion; when I felt overworked and under-appreciated, or when any disturbance interferes with my plans. Clearly, it doesn’t take much for me to get irritated at the world and God. And yet, here is a young man who saw his entire family executed in front of him; set out on foot for 13 years, with barely enough food and water, and had the faith and conviction to read his Bible every day and praise God.

We may feel lost to God many times in our lives, but God never loses us. He will walk forever to find us, even if the rest of His flock is safe. Each child of God’s is special and unique, and all we have to do when darkness comes and tears fall, is call His name, and He will carry us home.

How do we survive the world? We survive by remembering each day that even though God, at times, seems lost to us, we are never, ever, ever lost to God.

4 thoughts on “Lost and Found

  1. Once again you have written a great devotional. I just read the church bulletin yesterday and felt such a good message from this one. What strength from the 13 year-old! If all of us had this level of faith…wouldn’t it be a great world.

    You are so right…God never loses us even when we seem to give up on Him. He is always there.

    • Thank you is much for your kind words. I wrote the nov one today and it took me longer to find the bible verse than to write the devotion! I wanted to use the story of people Jesus healed and only one came back to thank him. I finally found it. It was the story of the ten lepers.

      Yes. Those young men were extraordinary. Like you said. To have their faith would be amazing. Myra

      Visit my blog at: writermyra.wordpress.com

      >

  2. So true, we are never lost to God. I find comfort in verses like Psalm 56:8

    You keep track of all my sorrows.
    You have collected all my tears in your bottle.
    You have recorded each one in your book.

    He keeps such close track that he collects every tear we shed in a bottle….that is a pretty big bottle!

    • Thanks for your comment!! I don’t have many blog visitors but I don’t do a lot on it either. I love the psalms too. David was so conflicted. I identify with him. Up and down and down and up! But God never gave up on him and that’s very comforting to me.

      We just met the Riley’s at the garage. I’ve tried to talk to them all summer. For our final figure well be lucky if we get walls and water!! Pop has offered to paint it himself. One word for that. Divorce!!! We already changed some things to make it cheaper. Will see if we can do it

      We’re doing nothing today. Probably not much all weekend. I forgot Erin’s bd song last night. Had to write her this morn. I’m sure she was greatly disappointed!!! Much love. Myra

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

