The Sound of Silence

THE CHRISTIAN CONNECTION

THE SOUND OF SILENCE

FEBRUARY DEVOTION

By Myra F. Smith

Bible Verse: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11:28-29)

On the morning of Feb. 8th, 2013, I saw a report by Jenna Wolf on NBC news. Her report concerned how addicted we are to noise. She compared the lives of our parents and grandparents to ours today. Here is what she discovered:

1. Before cable, television sets went off at night.

2. Before the internet, shops closed.

3. Before i-phones and earplugs, the only sounds you heard on a train or bus were the voices of real people.

4. Before i-pads, i-phones and i-tunes, people took quiet walks in the park.

5. Consider this: A jet plane has a noise decibel level of 140; an i-phone has a decibel level of 110.

I love the convenience of computers, i-pads, and digital readers. They make life easier in many ways. But, as we begin a new year, we would be wise to spend time in silence with God and reading the Bible; pray in a quiet place; listen to birds chirping, the wind blowing through the trees, and the steady patter of rain. We have a great hymn that says, “This is my Father’s world, and to my listening ears all nature sings and round me rings, the music of the spheres.”

Who are you listening to in 2014? A. Is it the noisy, rushed, frantic, misguided world? B. Or is it God, our Creator, who beckons us to come to Him and find rest and spiritual renewal?

I hope you answered “B”. This isn’t multiple choice.

4 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence

  1. So true! I remember “the befores”….life was simplier & it was easier to hear the voice of God. You are so right, distractions are everywhere! We must be deliberate in spending time with our God…in His Word & listening. This was a blessing, Myra…thank you!

    • Thank you so much, Doris! I fear that we communicate so much better in every way today than in the only way it matters….to God! And, you are so right..today, we are bombarded with noise…I was shocked when I heard the comparison to i-phones and jet planes! Myra

  2. Oh!, Myra this hit home so hard for me. After the holidays and all the family noise, the “noise” of mourning a family loss and the “noise” of pain from J’Anne’s healing. It is so time for the quiet healing only Good can give. Thank you for reminding me.  Love to you, Jan

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone

    • Thank you so much, Jan. I always write what I need to hear! And, we are so used to hearing the sounds of the world that we don’t stop to listen to God. Just reminding myself to read my Bible every morning has been a blessing to me and has made my mind quieter and less stressed. Much love to you and yours…Hope you got my donation in Ernie’s honor.

Leave a Reply

