When We All Get To Heaven

THE CHRISTIAN CONNECTION

SEPTEMBER NEWSLETTER

When We ALL Get To Heaven

By Myra F. Smith

 

Who can accuse the people God has chosen? No one, because God is the One who makes them right.” (Romans 8:33)

 

Eliza Hewitt was one of the premium songwriters of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. This famous hymn came to her while reading these words from John 14: “In my Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.”

 

On our return trip home this week from Little Rock, Arkansas, my mind was full. On our last day there, we toured both the Arkansas History Museum and Central High School. Inside the history museum, I read about the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole tribes and their “ trail of tears”, after the Indian Removal Act forced them off their land. By March of 1839, all survivors had landed west of the Mississippi. It was estimated that over 4,000 of the Cherokee nation alone, died.

 

At Central High School, we watched videos and listened to recordings from the nine black children who attempted to enter an all white school in 1957. So many riots ensued that President Eisenhower was forced to call out the National Guard and the 101st Airborne, to manage the mayhem. I was standing in front of a picture showing black children being taunted, when I heard the voice of a black woman next to me whisper, “Oh my Lord, my dear, dear Lord.”

 

Pay attention to the CAPITALIZED words from Eliza Hewitt’s hymn:

 

“In the mansions bright and glorious, He’ll prepare for US a place.”

“While WE walk the pilgrim pathway;”

“Let US then be true and faithful, trusting, serving, every day.”

“Onward to the prize before US!

Soon His beauty WE’LL behold;

Soon the pearly gates will open; WE shall tread the streets of gold.”

 

“When we ALL get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be! When we ALL see Jesus, WE’LL sing and shout the victory.”

 

AND THE QUESTION IS: WHO ARE ALL? THE ANSWER IS: ALL ARE ALL.

 

As I write this, I pray that ALL of God’s children will be welcomed at His Heavenly table.  And if am blessed enough to obtain a seat, and discover only people who look and act like me sitting there, my worst fear has been realized. I was not in heaven. Somewhere, along life’s journey, I took a wrong turn, and lost my soul.

 

One thought on “When We All Get To Heaven

  1. Myra , the hospital address is as follows: Good Shepherd Medical Center 700 East Marshall Ave Longview , Tx 75601 ICU 5 th floor Rm 1515

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

