A Love That Never Fails

The Christian Connection
February Devotion
A Lasting Love
By Myra F. Smith

Bible Verse: “Let me fall into the hand of the Lord, for His mercies are very great.” (1 Chronicles 21:13)

George Matheson, who wrote the words to the song, “O Love That Will Not Let Me Go,” was no stranger to love. At age nineteen, while graduating from Glasgow University for work in the Christian ministry, he became totally blind. His fiancé, unwilling to marry a blind man, returned his ring. That rejection never left him, and it was during this time of sorrow that he wrote the beautiful hymn, “O Love That Will Not Let Me Go.”

One Sunday morning, while ministering at a small church, a visitor who was a member of the large St. Bernard’s Church in Edinburgh, was impressed with him, and they later asked him to pastor their church. He said of this exciting event in his life: “Make every occasion a great occasion. You can never tell when somebody may be taking your measure for a larger place.”

In this month of valentines, candy boxes, heart shaped balloons, and flowers, let’s take a look at George Matheson’s idea of the perfect love:

“O joy, that seekest me through pain, I cannot close my heart to Thee. I trace the rainbow through the rain, and feel the promise is not vain, that morn shall tearless be.”

O love, that wilt not let me go. I rest my weary soul in Thee. I give Thee back the life I owe, that in Thine ocean depths its flow, may richer, fuller be.”

George Matheson, as far as I know, never experienced a romantic, human love, but he experienced an even greater love…a love that would not leave him…a love that would see him through the pain of blindness, and allow him to feel the rainbow casting its colors through the rain.

God’s love never leaves us; it is not dependent on circumstances or human whims; it grows strong when we grow weak; it is life sustaining and brings cheer to our gloomy hearts. God’s love is eternal, beautiful, strong, gracious, loving, and willing to enter a waiting heart.

This year, send a Valentine to God. Express your love for the One who will never let you go. And your heart will be full, and your eyes, once blinded by rain, will once more see the rainbow.

2 thoughts on “A Love That Never Fails

  1. Thank you so much, Cheryl. It’s wonderful to get feedback from someone who is reading my blog! I will bring you my book on Sunday. It’s a book for caregivers, and I know you are in the midst of that.

Leave a Reply

